Leigh Centurions Sign Off 2019 With Their End Of Season Awards Night

Luke Douglas will return to Australia with his family laden with extra baggage after sweeping the awards at the Leigh Centurions Player of the Year Dinner held at LSV last night.

The popular Australian prop forward and Scotland international has been a key member of the Leigh Centurions team that finished fourth in the highly competitive Betfred Championship on a season’s long loan from St Helens.

Re-united with his Scotland coach John Duffy, Douglas scooped the prestigious Coach’s Player of the Year Award (sponsored by PPS Design & Build) and the Players’ Player of the Year Award (sponsored by Hilltop Products Ltd) in front of a sell-out audience in the Banqueting Suite.

Douglas also won Impact Insurance LCTV Big Hit of the Year and the club’s Special Award, sponsored by Palatine Paints.

Adam Carroll scooped the prestigious gm Projects Club Man of the Year award after his fantastic efforts as a volunteer and key member in the Club’s backroom staff.

LISA members voted Gregg McNally their Player of the Year while Iain Thornley earned the same accolade from Superleigh.

Toby Adamson capped a fine first season at LSV by being voted LCTV Tommy Sale MBE Player of the Year.

Ryan Brierley, Gregg McNally and Martyn Ridyard were all recognised for reaching significant Club milestones in the award sponsored by Kukri and presented by Guest of Honour and former Leigh and Great Britain Superstar Des Drummond.

Brierley overtook Drummond’s tally of 141 Leigh tries during the campaign and is now fourth in the all-time list with 144 tries.

Brierley’s Summer Bash try against Widnes Vikings was also LCTV Try of the Season.

McNally became only the 11th player in Leigh’s history to score 100 tries for the Club.

Ridyard became only the third player in the history of the Club to score 2,000 points, following in the footsteps of John Woods and the late Jimmy Ledgard.

A splendid evening’s entertainment was rounded off when Leigh Centurions Captain Micky Higham received a prestigious Services to Rugby League Award sponsored by 24/7 Technology Ltd with his former Warrington Wolves team-mate Chris Hill, himself a former Leigh hero making the presentation.

The evening’s Main Sponsor was Daniel Halliwell’s 24/7 Technology Ltd who worked tirelessly alongside LCTV’s Matty Atkin to produce a superb video presentation which accompanied the presentations.

Kukri were valued associate sponsors with Gill Wood’s events company, gm Projects Ltd, integral in a fantastic evening’s entertainment enjoyed by all.

Prior to the awards dinner head coach John Duffy reflected on the 2019 campaign and thanked all his support staff, players and volunteers as well as the Club’s highly valued sponsors and supporters.

Leigh Centurions owner Derek Beaumont also gave his thoughts on the season and spoke of his inspiring vision for the Club in 2020 and beyond.

Leigh Centurions chairman Mike Latham was MC for the evening with Brian Blackburn providing the entertainment and Rebecca Hart the photographs.

The winners were as follows:

Leigh Centurions Awards Dinner Sat 5 Oct 2019
Main Sponsor- 24/7 Technology Ltd
Associate sponsor- Kukri

Order of awards

  1. LISA Player of Year
    Presented by: Lynda Pike
    Nominations: Luke Douglas, Gregg McNally, Iain Thornley
    Winner: Gregg McNally
  2. Superleigh Player of the Year:
    Presented by; Jonathan Simpkin
    Nominations: Joe Cator, Micky Higham, Iain Thornley
    Winner: Iain Thornley
  3. LCTV Impact Insurance Big Hit of the Year
    Sponsored by: Impact Insurance
    Presented by: Moira and John, Impact Insurance
    Winner: Luke Douglas
  4. LCTV Tommy Sale MBE Player of the Year
    Presented by: Ron Sale & Jean Mangnall (Tommy Sale’s son and daughter)
    Nominations: Toby Adamson, Joe Cator, Iain Thornley
    Winner: Toby Adamson
  5. LCTV Try of the Season
    Presented by: Matty Atkin, Joe Wood, Oliver Wilcock and Ryan Taylor (LCTV)
    Nominations: Five tries on video link supplied by John Duffy
    Winner: Ryan Brierley (v Widnes, Summer Bash)
  6. Club Man of the Year
    Sponsored by: gm Projects Ltd
    Presented by: Gill Wood
    Winner: Adam Carroll
  7. Club Milestones of the Year Awards
    Sponsored by: Kukri
    Presented by: Des Drummond
    Winners: Ryan Brierley- 144 Leigh Centurions tries (fourth in all-time list)
    Gregg McNally- 100 Leigh tries (only 11th player in history to achieve this)
    Martyn Ridyard 2,000 Leigh points (only third player in history to achieve this)
  8. Special Award
    Sponsored by: Palatine Paints Ltd
    Presented by: Jason Huyton
    Winner: Luke Douglas
  9. Coaches’ Player of the Year Award
    Sponsored by: PPS Design & Build
    Presented by: John Duffy, Paul Anderson, Jay Duffy
    Nominations: Toby Adamson, Luke Douglas, Liam Hood
    Winner: Luke Douglas
  10. Players’ Player of the Year Award
    Sponsored by: Hilltop Products Ltd
    Presented by: Becca Davies (Hilltop), Micky Higham & Martyn Ridyard
    Nominations (there were only 2): Joe Cator and Luke Douglas
    Winner: Luke Douglas
  11. Services to Rugby League Award
    Sponsored by: 24-7 Technology Ltd
    Presented by: Chris Hill
    Winner: Micky Higham

Related posts